Arts, Environment & Education

Cloughjordan Arts CLG was established as a not-for-profit company in 2016.


The company’s aims are:



  • To promote and encourage the presentation of arts to the highest standards and to further and promote public knowledge, appreciation and enjoyment of the arts in all its diverse forms.
  • To develop and manage performance space(s) for the presentation of work of educational, cultural and artistic value and to thereby provide for the cultural, artistic and non-material needs of the Cloughjordan community.
  • To work for the promotion of Cloughjordan and the North Tipperary region as a creative and economic hub for the performing arts and to undertake such activities as will enhance and expand the performing arts related infrastructure of the Cloughjordan area and thereby maximise the potential for local and sustainable employment for arts workers.
  • To abide by best ecological practice in the management and maintenance of the amenity, and to work to minimize pollution to the air, water and land.


The company’s first major project is the Community Amphitheatre and that is where our energies are directed for the moment. This company structure (vat registration, access to bank accounts, ppn numbers, project management, governance etc.) will be used in the future to manage and programme the amphitheatre, and in time, to work towards realising our aims. It is hoped that having these sorts of structures in place will facilitate a wide range of activities in collaboration with local arts and crafts practitioners, and other stakeholders.


Many ideas are being discussed such as the co-ordination of residential arts and crafts courses, a Cloughjordan sculpture trail, an online shop and skills recourse, and artists-in-residence schemes.


The current Board of Directors of Cloughjordan Arts is: Brid Ni Chumhaill (Actor); Gregg Allen (Energy Co-Op Manager and Company Secretary); Joanna Parkes (Drama in Education Facilitator/Teacher) Michael Canney (Theatre Technical & Production Manager and Chairperson); Philippa Robinson (Co-Op Administrator); Thomas Killackey (Publican).


The subscribers  are: Andrew Lummis; Davie Philip; Devyn Olson-Sawyer; Elizabeth O’Shea; Jeanne Merer; Julie Lockett; Maggie McEntee; Peadar Kirby; Seamus Costello; Stephen Peel; Patrick Bergin; Deidre O’Leary; Lian Callaghan.


If you are active and interested in the arts we would love to hear your ideas, and would welcome your involvement. Please email